ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AIBS/EHA Riverina Regional Group

Minutes of Meetings to be held at Barham, 22 October 2009

Meeting opened 3.45pm.

PRESENT

Neil Smith, Nathan Espie, Ben Lang, Graham Ritter, Stephen Campbell, Cassie Vitucci, Kris Dunstan, Alan Thomas, Jacky Woolhouse, Mark Williams, Andrew Price, Belinda Bushell, Paul Riley, David Crick, Paul Reynolds, Dionisio Pantano, Sam Clarke, Tony Donoghue, Stephen McHugh, Guy Marchant, Michael Foley, David Christy, Bradley Peach, Geoff Barker,

APOLOGIES

lan Hamilton, Duncan Bains, Wayne Chisholm, Warren Jenkinson, Bob Parr, Scott Martin, Paul Mullins, Ken Ross, Bill Burns, Gary Poole

ADOPTION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

Minutes of the previous meeting held at Junee on 16 October 2008 **Moved** G Ritter / S Campbell- carried

BUSINESS ARISING

Neil Smith & Mark Williams to be added to the list of those present at Junee.

CORRESPONDENCE

<u>IN</u>

- I. All correspondence was tabled in bulk as the majority were emails, mainly between the members of the future direction working party. Discussion was then held on the correspondence with EDAP in relation to proposed changes (Future Directions) to our group.
- 2. That not all members were getting updates (contact list to be updated).
- 3. The press/ letter release from EHA 19 Oct. 2009 regarding structural changes giving regional groups power to manage their own funds- Paul Reynolds elaborated as he was at the recent NSW State Conference where the matter was discussed.

- 4. RAMROC Planning Seminar at Narrandera
- 5. UWS- possible loss of EH course.

OUT

- 1. BPB letter in relation to draft requirements
- 2. UWS- Letter about the groups concern at the possible loss of their EH course

GENERAL MEETING

BPB- Group to send letter that skills be graded with basic training along lines of old TAFE course to give broad base skills leading then to more direct training in various fields to be able to progress--- Same letter to be sent to Sue Halliday, LGSA, DEPA, EDAP and other with an interest; Moved G Ritter/ K Dunstan, carried.

Group to facilitate a round table discussion if possible.

TREASURERS REPORT

Submitted that \$5,480.00 in groups account

FUTURE DIRECTIONS

Neil Smith presented the report from the Future Directions Working Party to which the members of the working party spoke.

Recommendations from the report were as follows:

- a) "That the current attendance ratify the actions thus far of the Riverina Group Future Directions Working Party in:
 - a. Setting up a cheque account with 5 signatories with a "two to sign" requirement.
 - b. Arranging for an ABN for invoicing and receipting purposes.
 - c. Adopting the name "The Riverina Environmental Health & Building Professionals Group" for the purposes of setting up an ABN.
- *b)* Adopt a structure with the committee positions* of:
 - i. Chairperson

- ii. Secretary
- iii. Treasurer
- iv. Ordinary members (minimum 3 and maximum 7)
- v. Sub Committees as required and decided by the full committee from time to time. Sub-committee membership to be drawn from the wider group and not subject to limitations such as EHA & AIBS membership. Potential sub-committees may include but not be limited to:
 - a) Professional Development sub committee
 - b) Conference sub committee
- *Office bearers positions only available to current members of either EHA or AIBS.
- c) Adopt the "Model rules for incorporated associations" as provided by the NSW Department of Fair Trading with the following variations:
 - i. Clause 8 (1) & (2) No fee be applicable for nomination to the Group.
 - ii. Clause 14 (1) (b) number of ordinary members be made a range from 3 to 7 rather than limiting the number to 3 only.
 - iii. Clause 14 (2) Change names of office bearers as follows:
 - a) President to Chairperson
 - b) Vice-president to Vice-Chairperson
 - iv. Clause 14 (3) Add the requirement that office bearers (as separate from ordinary members of the committee) have maximum three year term.
 - v. Clause 14 (3) Add the requirement that office bearers must be a member of either EHA or AIBS or both.
 - vi. Clause 15 (1) delete clauses (a) & (b) which require 7 days written nomination for election candidates and insert a single clause reflecting the ability to make verbal nominations at the election.

vii. Clause 20 (1) – change minimum committee meeting frequency from 3 times per year to two times per year."

Moved to adopt G Ritter/ B Lang, carried.

As the report was adopted elections were then held for office bearers and committee members, Mr Steven Campbell (EDAP) agreed to preside over the elections as returning officer so all previous positions were declared vacant.

Election of Office Bearers- Steven Campbell returning officer

President;- N Smith nominated as president (M Williams/ G Ritter) No other nominations received, elected by show of hands.

Secretary;- Graham Ritter nominated as secretary (B Lang/ Neil Smith) No other nominations received, elected by show of hands

Treasurer;- S Martin (to be confirmed) No other nominations received, elected by show of hands. B Lang Alternative if S Martin declines.

Members: M Williams, T Donaghue, C Vitucci, B Bushell, B Lang and P Riley

GENERAL BUSINESS

M Foley brought up discussions on accreditation requirements & the concerns that council staff will not be treated fairly in the process of accreditation

NEXT MEETING

The 2010 meeting will be held at Temora on a Thursday & Friday around September/October at executive discretion (not in school holidays)

Neil Smith gave a vote of thanks for the work in preparing for the conference.

CLOSE

The meeting closed 5.15pm